Foosball.com Forums

what table to get

what table to get
« on: September 08, 2005, 11:08:34 AM »
Hello all, I'm an amateur foosball player and I haven had any experience with regulation tables, but I am very competitive and like using quality equipment. I'm looking to buy a table for my dorm lobby, but most of the guys want a table with 1-man golie rods. What sort of table has this? I haven't seen any one golie tables listed in sporting goods stores, so I was wondering where would be a good place to buy one. If I can't obtain a good 1-man golie table I could always get a 3-golie table. I've heard that the tornado is a good choice for that,  how are your experiences with them?

Any advice appreciated,

Fooser from Texas

Offline SumnerH

• No spinning, have fun!
Re: what table to get
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2005, 01:41:11 PM »
The official table in the US for most tournaments (including Texas States, Worlds, and Nationals) is the Tornado table.  It has a 3-man goalie and is an evolution of the German style tables into what is the modern American hardball style of table (also found on Dynamo and Shelti tables).  It's just about the only table used in tournaments from Maine to Washington, DC, and then across to Louisiana--and west from those points through Chicago, Dallas, Denver, etc out through California and Washington state.  If you want a tournament-style table, this is the one to get in the US right now, they're built like a tank so aside from the occasional broken man (quite rare, really) you just need to keep it clean and maybe lubricate the rods once in a while.  Shelti also has an excellent quality table, it does play differently from Tornado (grippier, wider feet on the men) but it's also a rugged, well-built, good-playing table.