Foosball.com Forums

snake shot - lateral movement

snake shot - lateral movement
« on: February 09, 2010, 09:30:54 AM »
Are there any training routines specific for the width/speed of the lateral movement. Actually, any advice on lateral movement would be appreciated.

tnx!

Offline snake eyes

• Carpe De Foos
Re: snake shot - lateral movement
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2010, 09:52:13 AM »
Look at the rollover training kit in the online shopping section of this website. It looks interesting but I have never used it. Anybody out there tried this training tool yet?

Offline alaskan thunder

• https://www.facebook.com/groups/firstcoastfoosball
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2010, 10:16:16 AM »
Meh, I always figure that kit was for suckers. Just practice and ask an experienced player if you have any issues....

« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2010, 01:13:39 AM »
I'm just learning my snake shot too, and have been trying it out on the guys at work. A good snake shot is near-unstoppable precisely because you can reach any part of the goal from a single setup point with very little "tell" as to where you're going to shoot. (Experienced players, please feel free to correct me here, I'd love to learn more too.)

By "width", I assume you mean how far the ball moves laterally before you strike it? This can vary just as much as it does with a pull/push shot - you want to move the ball to where there's a hole in the defense, and slap it in right at that point. However, there's two things you want to keep in mind while moving the ball. First, you don't want to try to move it too far. You can't reliably generate as much push from the pinned position as you can with a push shot, and if you try to move it too far, the ball will slow down and lessen the effect of the shot. At most, you only want to move it from the center to the edge of the goal before hitting it. If there's a gap available, the most effective snake shots only move a player's width to get around a defender.