Questions HOME   Next

Shoot After Serve, Shooting from 5-bar...
Comments in (Blue) are done by our staff as quick notes on the sentence or question.

Questions From Members Answers From our Staff

1. Is it legal to shoot the ball into the goal right after you serve it? (yes)

2. Me and my brother were playing a game and he was the only one that touched it and it went in his goal ( it went backwards) does that score count? Please respond with the answer. (yes)
Chris Perry.

3. Hi there! I have a couple quick questions about foos rules...
Upon the initial serve (or any serve), is it legal for a team to shoot directly into the goal from the 5 man rod without any other player touching the ball. For example, if I'm on the blue team, and I serve the ball myself to my own 5 man & shoot the ball in without anyone else touching the ball, is it a goal? (yes)
Also, if only the 5 man rods touch the ball from the initial serve (basically giving the ball back & forth to each other), then one scores directly without anyone else touching the ball, is that a legal goal? (yes)
I used to always play that the ball had to be touched by another rod on the same team other than the 5 man rod before any goal counted, but now I'm not sure that's correct... (wrong)
Any info greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance! :)
Nate S.

4. (Continued from Question 3-3)...One other question does the ball have to touch both teams to be considered a goal (No, just the serving team). Thanks for your time.
Lance G.

5. Regarding this Rule: Serve the ball through the hole any way you want, but you must touch the ball with a man before you score. Does that mean that you can not score on the very first hit after a serve? (Yes! The ball must hit the table FIRST, then the serving team (the defense does not need to) must touch it at least one time and then it would be a legal score.)

6. If I serve with spin and I do not touch the ball with my player but the opponent touches the ball and it then goes into their goal does this count as a goal? (No) Thanks,

7. My son has a "new" move he successfully tried on me the other day. As I put the ball in play, he slammed his man against the wall, kicked the ball directly out of the chute before it hit the table surface (must touch play surface first ), cleared over the top of all my players and shot it straight into my goal. I was impressed, but would like to know if this is a legal play or if the ball has to touch the playing surface first for any score to be legitimate. (must touch surface first)

To be a legal score immediately following the server
1. The ball must touch the play surface first, before either team touches it.
2. You may spin the ball on the serve, but:
a. Before the ball can score on the defense, the offense must touch it at least 1 time.
b. If the ball goes into the serving teams goal, it does not need to touch any play figures, neither offense or defense.
c. NOTE: The defense does not need to touch the ball to make it a legal goal in any way. If the offense serves and they smack it into the defenses goal, that is perfectly legal.

So, the ball must touch the table play surface before anyone hits it and the serving team must touch the ball before they can score it on the defense. Trick question: If the team serving the ball spins it so much it goes into their OWN goal?!? That is a legal goal for the defense.

See the official rule on this subject.

-stacey, staff and certified official

Questions HOME   Next