Foosball.com Forums

Foosball (Whack a mole!)

Foosball (Whack a mole!)
« on: May 20, 2008, 10:59:19 AM »
So I'm just getting use to a Garlando Table (btw, I'm new to foosball) and I 'thought' I was improving.  Improving in the sense of the technique involved shooting a proper pull shot, push kick, pull kick, passing.   

We had a couple of friends come by for a freindly game and we got absolutely schooled!  The sad thing is, they didn't even do a SINGLE pass or a Pull/push shot/kick, snake, pin…NOT ONE named 'shot'.   
All they did was 'one time' the ball and hit the ball towards the direction of the goal as soon as the ball rolled their way (again, basically a one timer).  They weren't even aiming half the time and their was no really chance to grab a rebound because they were hitting the ball so hard (no, they weren't spinning).  As soon as the ball rolled back, they would again, 'one time' the ball and eventually it would go in!  They didn't even make ONE attempt to stop the ball and set up a shot.

They've only played on a FABI table which explains alot.  They were scoring (one timing the ball) from all over the place, specifically from the 5 man rod at the start of play.  I'm still learning how to perform the 'named' shots and they are improving but the frequency of connecting correctly needs to improve.  I'm wondering though, should I also start learning how to 'one time' my shots as well along with the 'proper' shots?

Also, any advice how to play against people with this 'WHACK A MOLE' style of play?

Re: Foosball (Whack a mole!)
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2008, 09:42:51 PM »
lol half the game is luck.  you're lucky they were not spinning.

« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2008, 11:58:18 PM »
They're fastball players by the sound of things, I hear they play it alot in Quebec.  My best advice is to play as strong positionally as you can and wait for your chances.  I'm not an expert Garlando player though.

Offline papafoos